As long as I know my wife, I don’t have to be faithful to her!

I think that’s a fair summary of the logic found here:

Behold, the perils of social media, and a cautionary tale about the dangers of Twitter…

I know it’s a tweet. And I know that means it’s not intended to be a comprehensive description of the Christian life. Tweets really only can describe a facet or aspect of something, rather than the whole. A bit like a proverb. It’s pithy. I get that.

But, for crying out loud, even in 140 characters, it should be easy to avoid directly contradicting Scripture:

“But I am not ashamed, for I know whom I have believed, and I am convinced that he is able to guard until that Day what has been entrusted to me.” (1 Timothy 1:12)

I think I know what this guy’s trying to say. It’s not enough to have intellectual faith in facts; one must have a personal relationship with God. Believe me, as a pastor in Reformed circles, I’m running into folks far too often who drip with knowledge and show little evidence of true, personal knowledge of God and his character. All that to say, if I’m right about what he’s trying to say, it’s a valid point. So to be charitable, and having only skimmed his twitter feed, I won’t go pronouncing him a heretic on that basis alone. This, hopefully, is just carelessness rather than apostasy.

But just because it’s Twitter doesn’t give a person licence to be careless with the Word. He didn’t have to put it that way. He could have said, “When you KNOW God, it’s more than BELIEVING bare facts. It’s PERSONAL, not just INTELLECTUAL.” Or something like that. It fits the 140-character limit.

Biblical belief isn’t assent to bare facts. It’s knowledge AND assent AND trust. It’s a commitment–even in New Testament Greek, the ideas of “faith” and “faithfulness” are not just conceptually but lexically related (hence my restatement above). Sadly, his irresponsible tweet drives a wedge between two aspects of a truth that should never be divided.

As it is, charity aside, what he wrote is still heretical. Odd, for one purporting to be a prophet.

Comments Off on As long as I know my wife, I don’t have to be faithful to her!

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.